For those with short attention spans…

Vincent Van Goghs The Poets Garden

Vincent Van Gogh's "The Poet's Garden"

Is it just me, or is March an incredibly hectic month? And to top it all off, Daylight Saving Time makes it harder and harder to concentrate on the tasks at hand.  We’re all antsy for the warmer weather, the longer bouts of sunshine, for an end to being cooped up in our homes or apartments.

That’s why one of my favorite forms of writing is always perfect to read in the spring months.  (Not that it’s not perfect other times of the year as well.)  Reading good poetry is similar to that enlightened, grounded feeling you get after an hour-long yoga class.  Best of all, it’s free, and you can find plenty of places on the internet to read some.

You can hear my review of a new book of poetry published by Norton, called Essential Pleasures, over at the Books on the Nightstand most recent podcast.  You can also see me blog about poetry over at Identity Theory’s Book Rate blog.

What are some of your favorite poems, and what do you read when you don’t have time to devote to a novel or long book? I’m also a huge fan of short stories. I think they are the most underappreciated form of writing.  If you don’t understand the big deal about short stories, just read Tobias Wolff’s “Bullet in the Brain”.  If he doesn’t change your mind, I don’t know who will.

This entry was posted in links, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For those with short attention spans…

  1. Priscilla says:

    If I can’t get into novels for any reason, then I read short stories, as you suggest. Either I go back to a favorite collection and re-read, or I pick up Best American or an anthology and read that. At the computer, I go through sites like the New Yorker and Ploughshares, or Narrative Magazine. I don’t read as much poetry as I should.

Leave a Reply

