The part about Bolaño


I’m one of the many people reading Roberto Bolaño’s 2666 at the moment. It really is the book of the year. Normally I’d be suspicious of so much praise and hype, but so far the reviews have been spot on. A few of my favorite takes so far can be found at More Intelligent Life and Good Readings.

I’m only 80+ pages in, and am enjoying this doorstopper as much as I possibly can. It’s the sort of book where you have to read and re-read paragraphs, mulling over these crazy metaphors and similes that seem to come out of nowhere but somehow work.

(example: “It was raining in the quadrangle, and the quadrangular sky looked like the grimace of a robot or a god made in our own likeness”.)

It’s also the sort of book where when you put it down to get on with the minutia of your daily life, your head is still wrapped around the sentences in the epic book.

It’s funny, because I thought I’d have the opposite reaction to this book. It’s my first experience reading Bolaño, and I’ve read in a lot of places that he hated Marquez, one of my favorite writers. I thought that would make me not like his writing at all, but instead, I’m completely addicted. He’s a writer who celebrates writing and critics and artists and yet pokes fun at the whole literary world at the same time.

Expect more posts to come from me about 2666 over the next month or so.

This entry was posted in Bolaño. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

